71. Deputy Eamon Scanlon asked the Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality if she will provide a list of all Garda stations closed in counties Sligo, Leitrim, Cavan and Donegal since January 2012; and if she will make a statement on the matter. [40558/16]


Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality (Deputy Frances Fitzgerald): The Deputy will appreciate that the Garda Commissioner is primarily responsible for the effective and efficient use of the resources available to her. This includes responsibility for the formulation of proposals in relation to the opening and closing of Garda Stations, taking into account crime trends and policing priorities, so as to ensure that the best possible use is made of these resources. Indeed, this was the basis on which the Garda District and Station Rationalisation Programme 2012-2013 was developed and implemented. The specific information requested by the Deputy is set out in the table attached.
The Deputy will be aware that the Government, in its Programme for a Partnership Government, identified community policing as the embodiment of An Garda Síochána. Community policing provides a means of recognising that every community, both urban and rural, has its own concerns and expectations. The Programme commits the Government to ensuring visible, effective and responsive policing in every community, including the most minimal response times possible. In accordance with the Programme commitment, I have requested the Garda Commissioner, while fully cognisant of her statutory functions in relation to the distribution of Garda resources in the State, to identify 6 stations for reopening on a pilot basis. This pilot scheme is intended to feed into the wider review being overseen by the Policing Authority.
In that context, I have asked the Policing Authority to oversee a review of, among other things, the dispersal of Garda stations in rural areas. I understand that the Authority has, in accordance with section 117(2) of the Garda Síochána Act 2005, formally requested the Garda Síochána Inspectorate to examine the dispersal and use of resources available to An Garda Síochána in the delivery of policing services to local communities and to make recommendations to provide a more effective, visible and responsive policing service. The Authority has informed the Inspectorate that the review should take account of:
- the changing environments in rural, developing urban and suburban areas;
- the views of local communities;
- the allocation to and deployment of Garda resources at the local policing level, including the use of the Garda Reserve, Garda facilities and Garda equipment; and
- relevant recommendations made in previous Inspectorate reports.

Stations in Sligo, Leitrim, Cavan and Donegal that were closed under the Rationalisation Programme 2012 - 2013
Year Closed Division Station
2012 Sligo / Leitrim Bunnanadden
2012 Sligo / Leitrim Drumkerrin
2012 Sligo / Leitrim Kiltyclogher
2012 Cavan / Monaghan Tullyvin
2012 Donegal An Duchoraidh
2012 Donegal Culdaff
2012 Donegal Dunkineely
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Aclare
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Ballyfarnon
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Cliffoney
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Cloone
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Dromahair
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Dromod
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Easkey
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Glenfarne
2013 Sligo / Leitrim Keshcarrigan
2013 Cavan / Monaghan Bawnboy
2013 Cavan / Monaghan Redhills
2013 Cavan / Monaghan Shantonagh
2013 Cavan / Monaghan Stradone
2013 Donegal Annagaire
2013 Donegal Gleann Cholm Cille
2013 Donegal Malin
2013 Donegal Min an Lábain
2013 Donegal Na Brocacha